Are You Wearing That?

“Is that what you are wearing to church?”

“Yes, why?”

“Well those are your gym pants.”  He looks at me questioning if he should add more to this statement or possibly that he shouldn’t have said anything at all.

“They are not. They have pockets and buttons and zippers. And they are from Banana Republic.”  While I answered no, they were not gym pants, I felt that I had to qualify my pants selection in my response.

I have worn this pair of pants exactly twice.  The first time, my male colleague actually giggled at my outfit and this time my husband thought that I was wearing gym pants. Now, there was a point in my life where after these reactions, I would never had worn the pants again, but now I smile because they are too fun not to wear and I bought them for that reason.

These are skinny-legged black dress pants with small white polka dots all over them. My colleague giggled because he thought that the outfit wasn’t my normal put-together self. And he wanted to know if he could mix patterns as I had with my striped shirt and polka dot pants. My husband actually thought that they were my gym pants, I think because of the fitted factor.  Oh well, they are different, but definitely fun!

3 thoughts on “Are You Wearing That?

  1. Oh, how I wish I could go back to my pre-teen self and tell her to be a little more adventurous in her clothing choices and not worry about what others think. It’s only been fairly recently that I’ve been able to dress myself “outside the box” and actually enjoy it without caring what others might think. Good for you! (And I’d love to see this outfit!)

    Like

  2. I love the “qualifying my pants selection” part of this! I don’t know you (although I feel like I do!), but I can still somehow picture your face when your husband asked the question. That’s probably because your writing is so clear and concise. Funny one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment