Whatcha Doin?

I was upstairs putting laundry away, and I heard a rustling downstairs.  I knew it was my husband, so I wasn’t alarmed, but I was curious.  We had both been running around all day.  Cleaning, organizing, accomplishing all of those weekend tasks that homeowners have.  So, I yelled down, “Whatcha doing?”.  

His quick reply was “Nothing.” 

Knowing that I didn’t recognize the sound, thus my curiosity, I continued, “Can I help you?”  

I could hear him almost snicker and reply, “No, why, what do you think I’m doing?”.

“I’m not sure, that’s why I’m asking.”

The next thing I know, he’s running up the stairs and smiling at me.  I smile back and he begins his story.  

He has brought up our beach chairs from the basement because he is hoping to box them up to take on our Spring Break trip.  This is actually as crazy as it sounds, but let me explain.

My husband travels for work.  Since he is a frequent traveler, as I have mentioned before, he gets some perks from flight companies.  One such perk is the opportunity to check several bags at no cost.  I have admittedly taken advantage of this on several occasions when we travel together, relishing in the fact that I can bring liquids that are more than 3 ounces. Now, though, he has thrown me for a loop.  He is going to check our beach chairs.  I didn’t know you could do this, but I am pretty happy.

The vacation we have planned is 7 days on the beach.  We are staying in a condo, so some hotel amenities aren’t available.  Knowing this, though, I just planned to buy a chair along with the groceries we would use for breakfast and lunch.  Now, I am a beach person.  I will lay on the beach, properly sunscreened, of course, from early am until later dinner time.  I will read magazines and books, and I will be the happiest person ever.  I will eat and sit back down.  I will walk up to the bathroom and sit back down.  I might dip my toes in the water, and then, sit back down.  I will literally sit and brown on the beach for 7 days.  So, the beach chair is very important and my husband knows this.  This, is why he snickers as he retells his plan.  He thinks that he is very clever – which I suppose he is. I guess, I’ll just enjoy the chair and wonder how we’ll package them back up to bring home. 

3 thoughts on “Whatcha Doin?

  1. Just bring a roll of packing tape and rebox the chairs. Or another thought, if they are old, leave them behind and get new ones for home. Either way, it’s a win/win situation for you with seven days on a beach. Sounds lovely, and I’m not really a beach person.

    Like

Leave a Reply

