Calm

The day outside my window is gray and the rain falls steady, forming puddles on the sidewalk and moistening the grass into green and mud.  Few people walk outside and those that do gather their items close to their bodies and duck their heads to avoid the streams of rain.  They don’t hurry though.

Inside, there is a calm.  The heat of spring is not in the air. The excitement over spending time outside after school is gone.  The to-do list gets checked off, methodically, one-by-one.  The students work to finish their writing.  They seek help from others rather than just me.  I walk around observing and answering questions, but they are calm and the questions are few.  I breathe in and out, I am calm.
The gray rain has brought a welcome calm that I’m not sure I knew I needed, but certainly feel better for having.
Leave a Reply

