Winter

The grass is still green.
          But they say it’s winter.
The sun is shining.
          But they say it’s winter.
The temperature is 40 degrees.
         But they say it’s winter.
I am too warm in my knee-length parka.
         But they say it’s winter.
The snow falls from the sky
and piles on lawns and roads.
The temperature is in the teens;
I am warm in my downy parka
          Now it’s winter.
The snow falls again and again and again.
I shiver inside my parka.
         I’m sick of winter.
2 thoughts on “Winter

  1. The changes in mood and the repetition worked in your poem. I enjoyed it!

    About the difficulty with making the lines appear with the spacing you wanted… see if switching between the “visual” and “text” tabs when composing and publishing the post will help… or try the WordPress support…

    Like

Leave a Reply

